Meet Our Board

Road Safe America is governed by a board of concerned citizens who volunteer their time and talents to research statistics, technology, and trucking regulations around the world and bring that knowledge to bear in educating the public and policy makers. We seek common-sense improvements in roadway safety.


  • Steve Owings
  • Susan Owings

Board of Directors

  • Howell Adams
  • Julie Boggs
  • Robert Dallas
  • Pam Elting
  • David Fitzgerald
  • Sammy Harmon
  • James Hatcher
  • Donald Houser
  • Thomas W. Irick
  • John MacNaughton
  • Jay Mitchell
  • J. Pierce Owings
  • Richard S. Owings
  • Steve Owings
  • Susan Owings
  • Michael Purser
  • Brian Rogers
  • Thomas Worthy

Advisory Board

  • J. Elisabeth Dobbs
  • Jim Irwin
  • Philip S. Jacobs
  • Sarah Kennedy
  • Nancy Rigby
  • Jay R. Smith
  • Mary Yates
  • S. Zachry Young

The term “tractor-trailer” or "big-rig" used on this website
refers to all Class 8 trucks which is the heaviest class.

Copyright ©2018 Road Safe America.